Summer Shrimp Rolls

Standard

Last week I was flipping through the pages of my Everyday with Rachael Ray magazine looking for ideas for this weeks recipes. I knew I wanted to find some seasonal things to cook since summer is almost over. I wanted to find a way to hold on to it as long as possible. So there I was flip……flip….flip…..TADA!! This recipe screamed at me MAKE ME MAKE ME, and my response was HECK YA! Some people talk to their pets, I evidently talk to food magazines. OK OK yes I talk to my pets too. Hey you have to find conversations wherever you can when you live in a very small town. Ya, I know, You are right, I am just weird *sigh*.

Anyway, off of my mental health issues and back to the food, this recipe calls for shrimp which I LOVE. I have wanted to try making lobster rolls but with lobster being soooo expensive, and this girl trying to cook on a budget, shrimp was right up my alley. What a nice surprise it was when I went to the store and the shrimp was on sale!

I hadn’t really shared my recipe plan with anyone here this week, so when I started to prepare this dish and the shrimp came out I had everyone’s attention. Well, not my Dad, but Kevin and Seth were both hanging over my shoulder to see what I was making. Seth’s response was OMG I am so excited! Kevin was intrigued but a little hesitant because he is not a big fan of pesto and this recipe calls for 1/4 of pesto. That made me a bit uneasy but the picture just looked so incredibly yummy it didn’t give me much pause to think.

I will tell you that this is the perfect meal for a warm summer day. They are cool and creamy and so tasty. Kevin ate three rolls himself! I guess he decided pesto wasn’t so bad after all.

I think these are so pretty with all the summer colors in them. The corn takes on a bit of shrimp flavor because you throw it in with the shrimp right as it is done cooking, and the green onions and red bell pepper give the rolls just enough crunch. I am telling you that before summer is over you HAVE to try these!

 Summer Shrimp Rolls

1 1/2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil (EVOO)
1 pound large shrimp, peeled, deveined and chopped
3/4 cup fresh corn kernels (from about 2 ears of corn)
1/4 cup mayonnaise (can use reduced fat or fat free)
1/4 pesto, fresh or store bought
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1/2 red bell pepper, diced
3 green onions, thinly sliced (whites and greens)
Salt and pepper
4 hot dog buns (I will tell you we had 6 with enough leftover for 1 more)
In a medium skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the shrimp and cook, stirring, until opaque, about 3 minutes. Remove from the heat, stir in the corn. and let cool.
In a medium bowl, stir together the mayonnaise, pesto, and lemon juice. Add the shrimp corn mixture, bell pepper and scallions, toss. Season with salt and pepper. Serve in the hot dog buns.

About Bobbi Burleson

Mom to 2 kiddos and one little Westhighland Terrier. A So Cal girl at heart, I now live with my boyfriend/sous chef in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. I am a writer, recipe developer, photographer, and lover of wildlife, the out of doors, and scrapbooking. My philosophy is to hold those you love close and enjoy each and every moment you can. Oh, and eat mac and cheese, you can never have too much mac and cheese!

Leave a Reply

