Salsa Rice

Standard

So yesterday’s recipe was Chicken Enchiladas with Chili Verde Sauce and I served it with this rice. I figured it would be nice if I actually posted the recipe I was talking about huh? Ya, I am a little slow but I get there.

I came up with this recipe as an answer to “What the heck am I going to serve with the enchiladas?” question. You see, as much as I adore Mexican food and just about everything that goes with it, I do not like Spanish/Mexican rice. Most of the times I have had it it seemed basically rice in tomato paste and a few spices. I am not knocking those of you that enjoy it. It just wasn’t doing it for me ya know? I wanted something with a bit more heat and some veggies too. So the little wheels in my head started grinding and I got to work.

Don’t let the mention of heat run you off if you don’t like things very spicy. Jessi is not a fan of all things spicy like most of us here and she said it had just enough heat to it without making it hot so I was able to walk that fine line and keep everyone happy. YAY me!!!

This was a perfect addition to our Mexican Fiesta.

Salsa Rice

  • 1 cup long grain white rice
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 fresh jalapeno pepper, chopped
  • 1 can (15-ounce) fire roasted diced tomatoes, drained
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 clove garlic, minced

In a medium sauce pan, cook rice in oil over medium heat for about 3 minutes. Pour in chicken broth, and bring to a boil. Stir in onion, garlic, jalapeno, and diced tomato. Season with salt, pepper, and cumin. Bring to a boil, cover, and reduce heat to low. Cook for 20 minutes. Fluff rice with a fork and stir in cilantro.

Pin It

About Bobbi Burleson

Mom to 2 kiddos and one little Westhighland Terrier. A So Cal girl at heart, I now live with my boyfriend/sous chef in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. I am a writer, recipe developer, photographer, and lover of wildlife, the out of doors, and scrapbooking. My philosophy is to hold those you love close and enjoy each and every moment you can. Oh, and eat mac and cheese, you can never have too much mac and cheese!

Leave a Reply

