Make Ahead Sausage Breakfast Casserole

Standard

I love Love LOVE breakfast! But not so enthusiastic about being the one that has to get up and make it. Just being honest here. I can make a mean breakfast for dinner, but something about getting my rear out of bed to cook, and make dishes that need to be done, all before I have had some coffee and everyone else has gotten up. Sooooo the idea of a make ahead casserole that you put in the fridge and then pop into the oven when you feel like eating was one that I ADORED!! I had made one years and years ago for Christmas day with ham and cheese and bread etc. but I don’t know what happened to my recipe. Plus I wanted to try something different. I know Kevin loves sausage, eggs, and hash browns for breakfast so that was my jumping off point. I jumped off and ran with it.

This is seriously so simple it is ridiculous. Which makes it even better in my mind. I love pouring my love and time into main dishes but for some reason, breakfast, not so much. So the fact that I made dinner and then could jump right on this to get it ready was awesome. All you do it a bit of browning, chopping, and put it all together.

You could add more to this is you want. The possibilities are really endless. If you want more Italian flavors I would use Italian sausage (and they do have Italian flavored turkey sausage now), Parmesan cheese, flat-leaf parsley, and use an Italian seasoning blend to flavor the eggs. WOW now I am kind of excited about breakfasts!!

Make Ahead Sausage Breakfast Casserole
1 bag of refridgerated seasoned hashbrowns, (about 4 cups)
1 pound breakfast sausage, browned
10 eggs
1 bunch green onions, chopped whites and greens (reserve some of the greens for garnish)
1 cup milk
Kosher salt and cracked black pepper
1 tablespoon dry mustard
2 cups cheddar cheese
Spray a casserole dish with non stick spray. Add the hash browns to bottom and spread them out evenly. Top with the browned sausage. In a medium bowl add eggs, milk, green onions, dry mustard, salt, and black pepper. Whisk to combine. Pour egg mixture evenly over the sausage. Top with the shredded cheese. Place in refrigerator overnight. 
In the morning preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Place casserole in preheated oven and bake for 45 to 50 minutes, or until eggs have set up (test the middle of the casserole with a knife). Let casserole cool for 5 to 10 minutes, cut and serve. 

Pin It

Also shared on:

BWS tips button

About Bobbi Burleson

Mom to 2 kiddos and one little Westhighland Terrier. A So Cal girl at heart, I now live with my boyfriend/sous chef in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. I am a writer, recipe developer, photographer, and lover of wildlife, the out of doors, and scrapbooking. My philosophy is to hold those you love close and enjoy each and every moment you can. Oh, and eat mac and cheese, you can never have too much mac and cheese!

Leave a Reply

