Carne Asada + Surf and Turf Burritos

Standard

I know I have talked about my love of Mexican food about a million times right? OK so here is one million and one. Carne asada burritos were a favorite of mine when I lived in Southern California. Since moving to Western Washington I have yet to find a restaurant that made it to my liking. I also don’t have my little Mexican meat market to go to and pick up some pre-marinated meat (yes I was spoiled). For the last few years I have been searching for a marinade so I could make my own but never found one that really tripped my trigger. Then the other day I posted on my Facebook page and Twitter that I was again on the search for the elusive recipe. One of my Twitter friends sent me a link to his blog Damn Delicious and his version of a carne asada recipe. It was nice to find a recipe that not only sounded good but I already had feedback that it WAS good. I of course had to change it a bit though. So off I went to gather the appropriate items to make my mouthwatering treat.

This marinade would probably better if you could marinate the meat overnight but I didn’t have the opportunity (or the patience) to do so. I let it set for about 6 hours though and it came out very good. I am looking forward to trying it again when I can leave it overnight though. I  mean it can only get better right?

I made this the other night to go along with my Halibut Ceviche. I also made my “Holy Guacamole“. Both of them have been a family favorite for many years so I knew they would be an instant hit as partners with the carne asada. I was right!

Now the first picture is of the meat after it came off of the grill. Kevin isn’t a big burrito lover so he just wanted his steak sliced, plus he likes it very rare. So once he had his portion I cubed the rest of the carne asada and cooked it in the remaining marinade. This is the more So Cal way of preparing the meat for burrito consumption.

A special note – We decided to make “Surf and Turf” burritos. We added the Halibut Ceviche to the Carne Asada along with some pico de gallo salsa and the guacamole. OhhEmmmGeeeee HEAVEN!!!

Carne Asada
2 pounds flank steak
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup white vinegar
1/2 cup olive oil
1 teaspoon cumin
2 teaspoons cracked black pepper
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon chili powder
2 teaspoons Mexican oregano 
2 limes juiced
4 cloves garlic, finely minced
1/4 cup (a hand full ) of fresh cilantro leaves, chopped
Optional garnishes;
Pico de gallo or salsa
Guacamole (see link for recipe above)
Sour cream
cheese
Flour tortillas
Combine all of the ingredients in a ziplock bag and add the meat. Let sit in the refrigerator 6 hours to overnight. 
Heat a grill to medium-high heat. Remove the meat from the marinade, reserving the leftover marinade. Grill the steak for about 5 to 6 minutes per side (depending on the thickness of the steak) for medium rare. 
Allow the meat to rest for about 5 minutes, then slice (or chop). Return the meat to a medium skillet heated over medium-high heat. Add the leftover marinade and cook for a minute. Top with your favorite garnishes and eat with warmed flour tortillas.
About Bobbi Burleson

Mom to 2 kiddos and one little Westhighland Terrier. A So Cal girl at heart, I now live with my boyfriend/sous chef in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. I am a writer, recipe developer, photographer, and lover of wildlife, the out of doors, and scrapbooking. My philosophy is to hold those you love close and enjoy each and every moment you can. Oh, and eat mac and cheese, you can never have too much mac and cheese!

Leave a Reply

