Beef and Asparagus Curry

Standard

Hello my dear friends! I am preparing for a move soon (and I absolutely hate moving) so my cooking duties have been replaced somewhat by dinners out or, I am sad to admit, fast food. On the positive side of things, when I do get a chance to cook a meal I am sooooo excited!! Not that I wasn’t excited when I was cooking everyday, but I miss it and appreciate it much more than I did.

Last night I made Beef and Asparagus Curry from a recipe I found in Everyday Food. I love asparagus and was so excited to find a recipe that featured it. I am not a big red meat lover but Kevin is, so I figured this would be a “best of both worlds” recipe. The recipe was a good one but I would have done a few things different. First of all I think this would be a fantastic recipe for chicken too. With that said I wil tell you the things I will do differently with beef.

The recipe calls for you to cook the beef in the broth at the very end of the cooking process. The next time I make this I will season the beef with salt and pepper and then sear it in the wok first (just briefly) to lock in the flavor. Then remove it from the wok/skillet and reserve it on a plate covered with foil to return to the finished meal just long enough to warm the beef back up, at the most 1 minute would be required. I also will add more curry paste than it asks for. In a chicken curry I make I add the entire jar of the red curry paste (approx 1/2 cup) this called for 1/4 cup and I think it needed a bit more zing. Another thing that I think would add another layer of flavor would be to toss the finished rice noodles with a small (and I mean very small) amount of sesame oil, or cook the noodles to al dente and toss them in the curry for a bit to finish the cook process and allow them to soak up more of the curry flavor.

Ok with that said, this is an enjoyable meal, it is just that I like to tinker with recipes to try and maximize the flavors. I would love for you to give this a try, either the original recipe or my variation, and let me know what you think.

Beef and Asparagus Curry

1 can unsweetened coconut milk, shaken well
1/4 cup red curry paste
3/4 cup chicken stock
2 teaspoons fish sauce
1 tablespoon light brown sugar
1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
1 bunch asparagus, trimmed and cut into 1-inch pieces
1 pound sirloin steak, thinly sliced against the grain
Salt and pepper
Fresh cilantro leaves, chopped (optional garnish)
Lime wedges (optional)
In a large wok or skillet, heat 1/2 cup coconut milk over medium-high, stirring until shiny and thick, about 2 minutes. Add curry paste, stirring until fragrant, 1 minute. Add remaining coconut milk, stock, fish sauce, and brown sugar and bring to a simmer. Add bell pepper and asparagus and cook for 5 minutes. Add steak and cook, stirring, until just cooked through, about 2 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Serve over cooked rice noodles with cilantro and lime wedges.

About Bobbi Burleson

Mom to 2 kiddos and one little Westhighland Terrier. A So Cal girl at heart, I now live with my boyfriend/sous chef in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. I am a writer, recipe developer, photographer, and lover of wildlife, the out of doors, and scrapbooking. My philosophy is to hold those you love close and enjoy each and every moment you can. Oh, and eat mac and cheese, you can never have too much mac and cheese!

Leave a Reply

