Tipsy Tuesday – Watermelon Blackberry Jargaritas

Standard

Happy Tipsy Tuesday everyone! This is the second Tipsy Tuesday that I have done and I was surprised by how much everyone really loved the last one. There were so many pins and tweets, it was great! I hope that you all enjoy this post as much as you did the last one.

I know I have mentioned that my son is a bartender, and he comes up with some terrific drinks, which I will be posting soon. But he was out of town this weekend PLUS I was cruising around Pintrest and found a blog called Endless Simmer. The have a section they call Endless Poptails where they make “adult” popsicles. I love the idea but know that I would be the only one here eating the popsicles so that could be dangerous. A drink however? Ya, everyone here was down with that idea! So I decided to take their Watermelon Blackberry Margarita Poptail  idea and run with that. That is how Watermelon Blackberry Jargaritas came to be!

So refreshing, I hope you give them a try!

Watermelon Blackberry Jargaritas
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup water
1 small seedless watermelon
1 small package fresh blackberries (I used 2 but I made several drinks)
Limeade
Tequila
Grand Marnier 
Cocktail Shaker (if you have one)
Jig
Small jars (or glasses)

Bring the sugar and water to boil in a small sauce pan. Boil until sugar is dissolved, allow to cool.

In a food processor, puree the watermelon flesh. Add a little of the sugar syrup to sweeten, to taste. Put the pureed watermelon into empty ice cube trays and freeze at least 4 hours.

Place a few of the watermelon ice cubes into the cocktail shaker. If you don’t have a cocktail shaker you can use two glasses together. Add a few of the blackberries (I used about 5), about 4 ounces of the limeaid and tequilla, and 2 ounces of the Grand Marnier. Shake to blend. Add a few regular ice cubes to the jars (or glasses) and pour the cocktail over the ice allowing a few of the watermelon ice cubes to fall into the glass. Garnish with a fresh blackberry.

ENJOY!!

You can see this post plus many more on the Newlywed Blog’s linky party.

About Bobbi Burleson

Mom to 2 kiddos and one little Westhighland Terrier. A So Cal girl at heart, I now live with my boyfriend/sous chef in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. I am a writer, recipe developer, photographer, and lover of wildlife, the out of doors, and scrapbooking. My philosophy is to hold those you love close and enjoy each and every moment you can. Oh, and eat mac and cheese, you can never have too much mac and cheese!

Leave a Reply

