Grilled Veggies with Garlic Balsamic Reduction

Standard
I was going to post this tomorrow but I just couldn’t wait. Yes, I am the one that shakes and pokes all of the presents under the Christmas tree. Want to make me crazy? Tell me you have a surprise for me and then make me wait a few days to tell me what it is! NUTS!!
Anyway, this is the side dish we had with the Salmon with Avocado Salsa. Since I seemed to keep my weekend menu theme grilling, I had to do the side dish on the grill as well right? When I went to the store I noticed they had just gotten in some gorgeous zucchini and summer squash, as well as Japanese eggplant. They NEVER have Japanese eggplant. Color me happy!! 

I was excited to grill veggies. I mean we have grilled corn but that is about it. I had thought about doing the Spicy Grilled Corn  but just thought it wouldn’t go with the salmon. I knew the veggies would be beautiful with it and the garlic balsamic reduction? OhhhEmmmGeeeee soooo good!! I love the flavor of balsamic anyway but when you reduce a good balsamic? Heaven! I am really starting to get adventurous with other flavored vinegar, just dabbling a bit here and there. Hopefully I will come up with a knock out soon!

This is super easy, healthy, cheep, and ohhh soooo tasty! What is your favorite vegetable to grill?

Grilled Veggies with Garlic Balsamic Reduction
2 medium zucchini
2 medium summer squash
2 Japanese eggplant
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt and pepper
1/2 balsamic vinegar
2 cloves garlic, finely minced
1 1/2 teaspoons brown sugar
Slice the vegetables into even slices about 1/2 inch thick. Toss with olive oil and salt and pepper to taste. Heat grill to medium heat and place the vegetables on the grill. Cook until nice grill marks appear and they begin to soften. Flip them over and finish them up.
In a small sauce pan add the vinegar, brown sugar, and garlic. Bring to a boil and then reduce the heat to a simmer. Cook until reduced by about 1/2. The reduction will coat the back of a spoon. Drizzle the reduction over hot vegetables.

About Bobbi Burleson

Mom to 2 kiddos and one little Westhighland Terrier. A So Cal girl at heart, I now live with my boyfriend/sous chef in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. I am a writer, recipe developer, photographer, and lover of wildlife, the out of doors, and scrapbooking. My philosophy is to hold those you love close and enjoy each and every moment you can. Oh, and eat mac and cheese, you can never have too much mac and cheese!

Leave a Reply

