Hawaiian Jalapeno Chicken with Peach Salsa Rice

Standard

I know today is supposed to be Food Star Friday but I am still a bit off kilter from the BlogHer Food conference last weekend. It was such a whirlwind and that seemed to carry over to this whole week. I promise Manic Monday and Food Star Friday will be back next week.

On to the food right? OK, here goes. This recipe is what happened when I was scrambling to come up with dinner. Like I said, this week has been crazy for me and cooking was no different. I am usually completely organized when it comes to my meals (hahaha NOT)! Why do you think I have Manic Monday? Because a lot of the time the manic one is ME. But this meal was actually a reward for being unorganized!

A while back my son brought me home some pepper jelly from Rose City Pepperheads in Oregon.

Now that I have tried their jelly I want to try all of them! SO much flavor with a wonderful balance of sweet and heatt. I am wondering what the Holy Habanero tastes like, I am feeling pretty brave lately so I will have to order that and give it a try.

This is a super simple recipe with a ton of flavor. Again we are outside on the grill, or rather Kevin is on the grill. But this can be done on a grill pan in kitchen, or even in the oven. Anyway you cook it I highly recommend you give this a try!!

Hawaiian Jalapeno Chicken with Peach Salsa Rice
2 pounds chicken legs or thighs
Kosher salt
Cracked black pepper
Ground ginger
Jalapeno pepper jelly
2 cups rice
3 1/2 cups chicken stock
1 lime, zested and juiced
1/4 cup (a good handful) of fresh cilantro leaves, chopped
1 cup Peach Salsa (or store bought peach or mango salsa) 
Lay out your chicken and season both sides with a sprinkling of salt, pepper, and ground ginger. Fire up your grill to medium-high. Once it is hot, place the chicken on the grill and cook for approx 8 to 12 minutes per side (times vary depending on grill type and size of chicken). 
Meanwhile, in a medium sauce pan, add the rice and chicken stock. Cover and bring to a boil. Once at a boil reduce heat to low and cook for 20 minutes. Remove lid and fluff rice with a fork. Stir in the lime zest, juice, cilantro, and salsa.
Dish up a nice scoop of rice with a couple pieces of chicken and you have a fabulous meal for 4!

Leave a Reply

