Spicy BBQ Baked Beans for #SundaySupper

Standard
Ah yes, football season is back!! Be still my heart! I have been an avid football fan since I was 16. Now we wont discuss how many years that is. Let’s just suffice to say that it has been a long damn time!! In our house there are only two things that will bring everything to a dead stop and you will find all faces glued to the TV. NASCAR and football. Both of which I have enjoyed for the same amount of time.


Growing up in San Diego I became a Chargers fan and I when I did I did it full force. I can remember the year they lost in the playoffs to the Bengals. I, as well as thousands of fans, went to the stadium to wait for them to fly back. It poured the rain, we didn’t care. People started BBQs and a band showed up. There were TVs and people gave a us a run down as to where the Chargers were and when they would be there. It was midnight by the time they arrived, but we didn’t care. Now I live in Western Washington and have developed a love for the Seahawks as well. I have sat in the rain, snow, freezing wind to watch them play. Yes my friends I guess die hard could also mean a bit obsessed. 
Those years have passed. I enjoy the games in front of my TV on a comfy couch. No rain and I get instant replays!! BONUS! But I have never lost my love for tailgating. I love to have friends over, cook up a bunch of grub and have a few cold ones, all while arguing over who is going to win and if that was a bad call or not.  But football, fun, and great food always go hand in hand for me!
Spicy BBQ Baked Beans

2 tablespoons olive oil
6 slices of bacon, chopped
1 large onion, chopped
5 cloves garlic, minced
6 jalapenos, chopped (seeds and ribs removed if you want to bring down the heat level)
BBQ sauce (recipe below)
6 cans Great Northern Beans, drained
BBQ Sauce
2 cups ketchup
1/2 cup brown sugar
3/4 cups cider vinegar
2 tablespoons molasses
2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon paprika
2 teaspoons salt
1 tablespoon dry mustard
1 tablespoon onion powder
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper (we add more since we like it EXTRA spicy)

Add the ingredients for the BBQ sauce to a medium sauce pan. Bring to a boil and then reduce to simmer. Simmer for 30 minutes over low heat, stirring occasionally.

Meanwhile in a large heavy bottomed pot heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the chopped bacon and cook until the fat renders, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes. Add the onions, garlic, and jalapeno and cook until the vegetables soften, about 5 minutes. Add the drained beans and BBQ sauce. Heat to a simmer, then cover and reduce to low. Cook for 45 minutes, stirring occasionally). Remove the lid and cook until the sauce thickens, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

ENJOY!
Join us on Sunday as we share our favorite tailgate recipes and tips. Hop on twitter at 7pm EST for the live #SundaySupper chat.
The Lineup
Pre Game Warm-ups:
On the Sidelines:
Main Events:
Overtime:
From the Cooler:
Wine Pairings by Wine Everyday

http://bobbiskozykitchen.blogspot.com/2012/09/turkey-sausage-stuffed-zucchini-boats.html

Leave a Reply

