Chili Rellenos with Roasted Tomato Sauce for #SundaySupper

Standard
Pardon the shadow on the picture. I didn’t think I was blocking the light when I took the pictures last night, but after reviewing them I saw a shadow on all of the completed dish pictures. I would like to think it was my Mom hovering over me as I made this dish vs my poor photography skills!
The reason I say this, and why I chose this dish for this #SundaySupper meal, is because this is one meal that reminds me of my Mom more than anything else I have ever made. You see when I was young, like maybe 5, my babysitter was a little lady from Chihuahua Mexico. She was one of the best cooks I have ever known and I loved sitting with her in the kitchen as she cooked and told me stories about her childhood in Mexico. She used to let me make flour tortillas and stir the pots.
Like I have said, my Mother was not a cook really. But for some reason this lady encouraged my Mom to try. Lord love her that my Mom chose this to be one of the recipes she would go for. I will admit, it is a pretty labor intensive meal. But I just had to have these smells, flavors and memories in my kitchen again. I hadn’t made these in 18 years!!

You can simplify this meal by using canned whole green chilis instead of roasting fresh chilis and not roasting the tomatoes. But I love it the original way.
Chili Rellenos with Roasted Tomato Sauce

Tomato sauce:

  • 4 medium Roma tomatoes, halved
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and chopped
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon chopped oregano leaves
  • Salt
  • Cracked Pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
Cut the tomatoes in half and place them halved side up on  a baking sheet. Drizzle with a bit of olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cook for about 30 to 40 minutes, until you see the tomatoes “wilting” and giving off their juices. 
Add the tomatoes and chicken stock to a small pot over medium heat. Simmer the tomatoes until soft and stir in the garlic.
Use an immersion blender to combine or transfer to a food processor to blend until smooth.
Add the 1/4 cup of oil to a frying pan, over low heat, and stir in the flour to make a roux mixture. Cook the flour until browned, then add the tomato sauce. Simmer for 5 minutes and then add the oregano. Keep warm.

For the chilis


  • 4 poblano chiles
  • 1 pound queso fresco cheese
  • 8 eggs
  • 2 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup oil

Tomato sauce:

  • 4 medium Roma tomatoes, halved
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and chopped
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon chopped oregano leaves
  • Salt
  • Cracked Pepper

Directions

Rice and beans, for serving, if desired
Heat broiler. Place the chilis on a backing sheet and char the chiles on both sides. Once blackened put in a plastic bag for 10 minutes to sweat out any moisture. Remove from the bag, slit them down the middle and remove the skin and the seeds. Stuff the peppers with the queso fresco and set aside.
Separate the egg yolks from the whites. Add the egg whites to a large bowl. Reserve the egg yolks. Beat the egg whites with an electric beater until the whites fluff up. Add in the flour and the egg yolks and mix until completely incorporated.
Add the oil to a frying pan over medium heat. Spoon a bit of the egg batter on top of the oil to form a “pillow” for the stuffed pepper. 

Allow it too firm for a minute or so and then gently place the pepper in the middle of the pillow. 

Spoon batter over the top of the pepper to cover it.


 and fry until golden brown on both sides. 
Remove from the oil and allow to drain. 



Transfer to a serving platter, pour the tomato sauce over the cooked chile rellenos and serve.

Sopas (Soups), Ensaladas (Salads), and Entremeses (Starters)

La Comida (the food)

Postres (desserts)

Bebidas (beverages)

Please be sure you join us on Twitter throughout the day (this coming Sunday, September 16) during #SundaySupper. We’ll be meeting up at 7:00 pm (Eastern) for our weekly #SundaySupper  live chat where we’ll talk about our favorite recipes for a Mexican Fiesta! All you have to do is follow the #SundaySupper hashtag, or you can follow us through TweetChat!  We’d also love to feature your Mexican Fiesta recipes on our #SundaySupper Pinterest board and share them with all of our followers!


“No one who cooks, cooks alone. Even at her most solitary, a cook in the kitchen is surrounded by generations of cooks past, the advice and menus of cooks present, the wisdom of cookbook writers.”
― Laurie Colwin

Leave a Reply

