Tinsel Tuesday – Chai Sugar Cookies

Standard

Happy “Tinsel” Tuesday my friends. Yes, I know it is usually Tipsy Tuesday but I have decided to change that up just a bit for the Holidays. So Tuesday will be reserved for holiday themed posts. Cookies, cakes, side dishes, and yes, even drinks. Anything that puts you in a holiday state of mind.
I haven’t really baked in about 5 years. In 2007 my daughter and I lived in a small apartment in San Diego. It had 4 apartments in each block of apartments. So that year I decided I would bake cookies for all of my neighbors and friends. I had bought countless magazines and cookie cookbooks, watched Food Network, and made notes like a crazy woman whenever I found anything cookie-ish. 
My daughter was on a Chai Tea Latte kick, so when she saw these beauties she begged me to make them. I actually made these and Chai Shortbread cookies. If you all are interested I will make those as well. They are great with tea or coffee!

To be honest I am not sure what magazine or book I found this recipe in so I am sorry that I can not give proper credit where it is due. But I did find a version of them on My Baking Addiction. These cookies are amazing. In fact there is a danger of eating way too many if there is a nice glass of ice cold milk around! They taste like a sugar cookie and snickerdoodle took a bath in Chai tea. So ding dang good it is crazy!! I only made one batch because I am determined to make as many different types of cookies I can this year, but I have been ordered errrr emphatically requested to make these again ASAP!!
They are so simple to make, really. I mean you know I am not a baker and if I can make them anyone can. Give them a try, they might become a new family favorite!!
Chai Sugar Cookies

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 3/4 cups white sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon ground cardamom
1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
1/4 teaspoon finely ground black pepper
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper

In a large bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

In a medium bowl combine sugar, cinnamon, ginger, cardamom, allspice and black pepper. Remove 1/4 cup of the sugar-spice mixture, set aside to reserve for rolling the cookies.

Using a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment or in a large bowl with an electric mixer, beat the butter and sugar-spice mixture until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.

Add the egg and vanilla extract, combine until mixed well.

Slowly blend in dry ingredients mixing until just combined.

Using a small scoop or spoon roll dough into balls and then into the reserved sugar-spice mixture. Place dough balls on prepared baking sheet about 1 1/2 inches apart. Bake 8 to 10 minutes.

Let stand on baking sheet two minutes before removing to cool on wire racks

ENJOY!!

About Bobbi Burleson

Mom to 2 kiddos and one little Westhighland Terrier. A So Cal girl at heart, I now live with my boyfriend/sous chef in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. I am a writer, recipe developer, photographer, and lover of wildlife, the out of doors, and scrapbooking. My philosophy is to hold those you love close and enjoy each and every moment you can. Oh, and eat mac and cheese, you can never have too much mac and cheese!

Leave a Reply

